The subscription mode, either scheduled or immediate, is only actually honoured on active subscriptions. If the subscription is in a trial state, any request to cancel it is actioned immediately. The documentation doesn't explain what a customer is supposed to do. Many people will sign up for a trial, cancel it, but still expect to be able to use the product during that trial. They just don't want to forget about it and get charged unintentionally. And we do want that for our customers either, relying on customers to forget cancelling trials is a bit shady practice in the industry.
This one's quite a big red flag as we quite commonly see, customers subscribe to a trial immediately cancel through fear of forgetting. They can ultimately un-cancel as an informed choice if they wish to continue, or if they do feel comfortable, simply leave the subscription as is and let it renew. People who forget to cancel inevitably lead to chargebacks or support requests.
The ask here is simply to honour the cancellation mode for trial subscriptions, the same way it does for active subscriptions. Perhaps this is an implementation bug.
